Why Are Self-Encrypting SSDs NOT the Norm?

 

If SSD Encryption Is So Great, Why Doesn’t Everyone Use It?

Learn what factors are driving the adoption of self-encrypting drives

and why some choose to leave data unprotected!

Gone are the days when the computing hardware was always more valuable than the data stored on it. Today, more and more data storage applications are adopting or requiring encrypted hardware solutions to reduce the risk of sensitive data falling into the wrong hands. The sheer volume of data breaches has led to major shifts in corporate policies and legal governance requirements, putting data protection responsibility on both the end-user and corporate officer. Hardware-based full disk encryption, in the form of Self-Encrypting SSDs, alleviates much of this financial, reputational, compliance and security risk without compromising performance. Despite these benefits, SED’s have not been universally adopted. In this webinar, Micron Sr. SSD Technical Marketing Engineer Jon Tanguy and self-encryption industry leader Dr. Robert Thibadeau of Carnegie-Mellon School of Computer Science, Bright Plaza and the Drive Trust Alliance, will look at the benefits of SEDs and some of the misperceptions that may be delaying widespread adoption of hardware encryption in personal laptop and enterprise storage applications.

Free 60-minute Webinar:

Data Security: Why Are Self-Encrypting Drives NOT the NORM?

Wednesday, Oct. 28 – 3 p.m. EST

(2 p.m. Central/1 p.m. Mountain/Noon Pacific)

Click here to register

 

Presented by

Jon Tanguy, Micron Sr. Technical Marketing Engineer and SSD security specialist, with special guest Dr. Robert Thibadeau of Carnegie-Mellon’s School of Computer Science, former Senior Vice President/Chief Scientist of Wave Systems and Chief Technologist at Seagate Technology

 
Back to News